World of Faith

More Than You Can Ever Ask or Think – A Special Post | November 6, 2007

I’ve been preparing a new series that I alluded to last time, called “Being Set Free,” and that series will start in the next post entry here at “World of Faith.” However, last Thursday I ministered at my church’s Acts 29 Young Adult meeting, and I wanted to share that with you, my fellow readers, at the beginning of November, before we go into and launch the new series on “Being Set Free” later this month. With that being said, here is “More Than You Can Ever Ask or Think,” which I shared on last Thursday night at the Acts 29 Young Adult meeting…

A few years ago when I was at a conference for Inter Varsity Christian Fellowship, I was in a breakout session, and someone asked me what my life verse was. I responded with Eph. 3:20 (NAS), which states, “Now to Him who is able to do far more abundantly beyond ALL that we ask or think, according to the power that works within us.” I’ve heard this verse several times, and it seems to have sticked as my life verse. What I’d like to emphasize is that whenever I have faced discouragement, or uncertainty in a given situation, God has time after time directed me to this verse.

There are three different aspects of this verse that are important to note. The first aspect is that God is able. When I’ve studied this verse, I’ve always paid attention to the second part of it, but to me it is such a rich verse. The fact is that God is able — to establish us, and according to 2 Cor. 9:8, to “make all grace abound to you.” Another verse says that God has given us “everything pertaining to life and godliness.” God is very able to accomplish His will in our lives, but that is just half of the equation.

The second aspect of this verse is the other half of the equation, that God’s will is accomplished in our life through the power of God working in us. I really like how the NLT translates this part of the verse. Eph. 3:20 (NLT) says, “Now all glory to God, who is able, through His mighty power at work within us, to accomplish infinitely more than we might ask or think.” Notice that the verse here says “through His mighty power at work within us.” I like that a lot. That is an active statement that implies we must COOPERATE with God in order for Him to accomplish His purposes in our lives.

However, there is a third part to this verse, and it is this third part that has spoken the most to me that the entire verse has become my life verse. I really REALLY like how the Amplified says it. Eph. 3:20 (AMP) declares, “Now to Him Who, by (in consequence of) the [action of His] power that is at work within us, is able to [carry out His purpose and] superabundantly, far over and above all that we [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams]…” I really like how the Amplified uses the word “superabundantly” here. We talk about the concept of “abundance” in the Scriptures, but this is “superabundance.” As the song says, “My God is more than enough.” Really, “My God is MORE THAN more than enough.” Make no mistake about it. What really hits home, and why this verse means so much to me is that God is able to accomplish far more than what we dare to ask or think God can do, i.e. far more than our prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams. In other words, we must take the limits off God so that He can take the limits off of us. After all, it is what God is accomplishing through His power working in us.

Now THAT is really good news — that is really encouraging. This is why I’ve always turned to this particular verse when I have faced discouragement or uncertainty. An example of this happened a few years ago, when I went back to St. Louis, in July 2005, to take care of some personal affairs. I was scheduled to be back in St. Louis for about two and a half weeks. At this stage in my life, I had just started attending Faith Church in Edmond (see the link at the right side of the page), and I was facing a lot of uncertainty as to the future of the music ministry in my life. Because of some unfortunate situations, I had to leave another church where I was involved with the praise and worship team, and I had also been a part of the praise and worship team, and music ministry, back at my former church in St. Louis, Rivers of Life. The head of the praise and worship department, who at that time was the pastor’s wife, had always extended me a semi-open invitation to be a part of the praise and worship team again whenever I was visiting in town… depending on the logistics and scheduling issues. But I was uncertain whether I would have this opportunity this trip. And I was uncertain as to the future of my involvement in praise and worship, and music ministry here in Oklahoma, as well.

While in St. Louis, or shortly before I left town, I had received news I was not going to be able to sing the first Sunday I was in town, because of scheduling issues. Of course, this magnified the uncertainty. Earlier that weekend, I was up late watching a local church program in St. Louis. They had a segment where they were featuring a young family who attends that church, and showed how every member of the family was fulfilled. The kids were fulfilled with children’s church. The father was a member of the parking team ministry. The mother was a member of the choir of the choir and praise and worship team. Seeing this God spoke to me, and showed me that there was still promise and hope for the gifts God has given me in the area of praise and worship and music ministry.

Then on that first Sunday, I got in touch with the worship leader, and she said that she needed to check the schedule for the next Sunday, to see whether I could participate, and she asked me to call her Monday night. That Monday night I was at a local Borders, and I tried calling her. I could not get through. Again, this increased the uncertainty, as I had to make plans for Tuesday night, which was a scheduled rehearsal I would need to attend. After calling her twice, I still could not get through as there was no answer at home, and her answering machine was full. Finally about an hour to an hour and a half later, I got through to her, and she checked the schedule. She was concerned and worried herself about some of the instruments not being available, but said for me to come anyways and she would work me in.

So, Tuesday night I came to rehearsal, and discovered that Chris, who normally plays guitar and sings lead on many songs was going to play bass. So, God worked it out that I would actually be doing some lead vocals for that upcoming Sunday, which was definitely “more than I could ever ask or think,” given that I just was thankful and glad to be a member of the team. Further, towards the end of the set that morning, God personally spoke to me that this was a sign that He was not finished with me in this area, and that He is faithful and just to complete in me the good work that He had started.

In closing, God really is able to do and accomplish in us more than we can ever ask or think, according to Eph. 3:20. We just have to cooperate with Him, and take the limits off God so that He can take the limits off of us. Amen.

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you so much for your explanation on this verso of scripture. I could feel the anointing as you were discussing it. It’s just what I needed for reassurance of what God said.
    Many Blessing Be Upon You!

    Dr. Lane

    Comment by Apostle-Dr. Barbara Lane — February 28, 2008 @ 4:36 pm

  2. Thank you so much for your blog on faith. I have read through all of your entries. My family and a few others are embarking on a new journey to build a spiritual retreat center in Ecuador and your insights have been helpful.

    Comment by Jennifer — November 10, 2009 @ 5:28 pm


Leave a Reply

